Pin It

Best of Rochester 2015: Local Color 

best-local_color_place.jpg
NOTE: Runners up listed in alphabetical order

Best Local Politician

Louise Slaughter. @louiseslaughter; louise.house.gov

Runners up: Joe Robach | Ryan Shepard | Elaine Spaull

Best Group or Person Improving the Community

WALL\THERAPY. @walltherapyny; wall-therapy.com

Runners up: Shawn Dunwoody | Metro Justice | Louise Slaughter

Best Local Activist Group

Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley. 875 East Main Street, 244-8640, gayalliance.org

Runners up: Building Leadership And Community Knowledge (B.L.A.C.K.) | Metro Justice | Take Back the Land

Best Local Historic Site

George Eastman Museum. 900 East Avenue, 271-3361, eastman.org

Runners up: High Falls | Mount Hope Cemetery | Susan B. Anthony House

Best Local Eyesore

Medley Centre. 285 Medley Centre Parkway, Irondequoit.

Runners up: Downtown Rochester | Inner Loop | Midtown

Best Local Library Branch

Central. 115 South Avenue, 428-7300, libraryweb.org

Runners up: Brighton | Monroe | Pittsford

Best Place to Take an Out-of-Towner

Wegmans. Many area locations. wegmans.com

Runners up: Genesee Brew House | High Falls | Strong Museum of Play

Best Neighborhood

Park Ave.

Runners up: Neighborhood of the Arts | North Winton Village | South Wedge

Best Local Park

Highland.

Runners up: Cobbs Hill | Ellison | Mendon Ponds

Best Local Golf Course

Oak Hill Country Club. 145 Kilbourn Road, 586-1660, oakhillcc.com

Runners up: Deerfield Golf & Country Club | Eagle Vale Golf Course | Greystone | Lake Shore Country Club

Best Local Men's Sports Team

Red Wings. redwingsbaseball.com

Runners up: Amerks | Knighthawks | Rhinos

Best Local Women's Sports Team

Roc Stars (Roc City Roller Derby). rocderby.com

Runners up: RIT Women's Hockey | Western New York Flash

Best Local Recreational Sports League

Kickball League of Rochester. rockickball.net

Runners up: GRADA Ultimate Frisbee | Hot Shots Volleyball | NACKA Kickball

Best Local Mascot

Spikes and Mittsy (Red Wings). @spikesandmittsy; redwingsbaseball.com

Runners up: The Moose (Amerks) | Rex the Rhino | Ritchie the Tiger (RIT)

Best Local Radio Personality

Brother Wease. @brotherwease; radio951.com

Runners up: Terry Clifford | Evan Dawson | Jeremy Newman

Best Local Radio Station

90.5 WBER. wber.monroe.edu

Runners up: 92.5 WBEE | 97.9 WPXY | 1370 WXXI

Best Local TV Personality

Scott Hetsko. @scotthetsko; rochesterfirst.com

Runners up: Don Alhart | Rachel Barnhart | Doug Emblidge

Best Local TV News Station

13 WHAM. 13wham.com

Runners up: 8 WROC | 10 WHEC | WXXI

Best Local TV Weatherperson

Scott Hetsko. @scotthetsko; rochesterfirst.com

Runners up: Rich Caniglia | Glenn Johnson | Kevin Williams

Best Local Website<

Roc Wiki (rocwiki.org).

Runners up: Rochester Subway (rochestersubway.com) | Sir Rocha Says (sirrochasays.com) | The Rochesteriat (therochesteriat.com)

Best Local Facebook Account

Lollypop Farm. facebook.com/lollypopfarm

Runners up: Rachel Barnhart | Rochester Subway | Sir Rocha Says

Best Local Twitter Feed

@rachbarnhart.

Runners up: @akachela | @MedleyCentre | @sirrochasays

Best Local Instagram Account

@explorerochester.

Runners up: @rochesterny | @sirrochasays | @stevecarter

Best Local Podcast

1370 Connections with Evan Dawson. wxxinews.org

Runners up: Exxilista | The Lost Cosmonauts | One More Thing | UndertheSkin.tv

Best Local Commercial Jingle

Lori's Natural Foods. 900 Jefferson Road, Henrietta, 424-2323, lorisnatural.com

Runners up: Bob Johnson Chevrolet | Mark's Pizzeria | Record Archive

Best Local News Story of 2015

Truck spills cabbages on I-490.

Runners up: Photonics center coming to Rochester | Filling in the Inner Loop | WALL\THERAPY

Best Local News Story Ignored in 2015

Lovely Warren being booed.

Runners up: Ryan Shepard for President 2016 | Jack Moore's comments about African-Americans | Crime and shootings in Rochester

In This Guide...

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Latest in Best of Rochester

Latest in Best of Rochester

Browse Listings

Submit an event

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2016 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.