Pin It
Full schedule

RPO announces 2015-16 season 

Full schedule

Philharmonics series (All performances at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre):

Season Opener: Ward Stare conducts "Pines of Rome."

Thursday, September 17, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, September 19, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor.

Dukas, "The Sorcerer's Apprentice"; Tchaikovsky, "Francesca da Rimini"; Barber, Adagio for Strings; Respighi, "Pines of Rome."

Sibelius and Britten

Thursday, October 1, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, October 3, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; W. Peter Kurau, horn; Andrew Kennedy, tenor.

Arnold, "Four Scottish Dances" (RPO premiere); Britten, Serenade for Tenor, Horn, and Strings (RPO premiere); Sibelius, Symphony No. 2.

Seaman Conducts Brahms 4

Thursday, October 15, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, October 17, 8 p.m.

Christopher Seaman, conductor laureate; Christopher O'Riley, piano.

Debussy, "Iberia" from "Images"; Mozart, Piano Concerto No. 22; Brahms, Symphony No. 4.

Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet

Thursday, November 19, 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, November 21, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Simone Porter, violin; Eastman-Rochester Chorus, directed by William Weinert.

Wagner, Prelude to Act 3 of "Lohengrin"; Vaughan Williams, "Toward the Unknown Region" (RPO premiere); Barber, Violin Concerto; Prokofiev, "Romeo and Juliet" excerpts.

Tchaikovsky's Pathétique

Thursday, January 14, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, January 16, 8 p.m.

Fabien Gabel, guest conductor; Julie Albers, cello; Karen Gomyo, violin.

Scriabin, "Rêverie" (RPO premiere); Brahms, Concerto for Violin and Cello; Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 6, "Pathétique."

Beethoven 4

Thursday, February 4, 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, February 6, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Marina Piccinini, flute.

Haydn, Symphony No. 67 (RPO premiere); Aaron Jay Kernis, Flute Concerto (premiere commission); Beethoven, Symphony No. 4.

Mozart 29

Thursday, February 25, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday February 27, 8 p.m.

Günther Herbig, guest conductor; Jeffrey Gray, bass trombone.

Mozart, Symphony No. 29; Eric Ewazen, Bass Trombone Concerto (RPO premiere); Schumann, Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish."

Ein Heldenleben (A Hero's Life)

Thursday, March 3, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, March 5, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Vadym Kholodenko, piano.

Stephanie Berg, "Ravish and Mayhem" (RPO premiere); Prokofiev, Piano Concerto No. 3; R. Strauss, "Ein Heldenleben (A Hero's Life)".

Strauss' Four Last Songs

Thursday March 17, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, March 19, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Erin Wall, soprano.

Patrick Harlin, "Rapture" (RPO premiere); Barber, Symphony No. 1; Vaughan Williams, "Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis"; R. Strauss, "Four Last Songs."

Yuja Wang plays Bartók

Thursday, April 14, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, April 16, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Yuja Wang, piano.

Saint-Saȅns, "Danse Bacchanale" from "Samson and Delilah"; Bartók, Piano Concerto No. 1 (RPO premiere); Rachmaninoff, "Symphonic Dances."

World-Premiere Tyzik

Thursday, May 5, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, May 7, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor; Juliana Athayde, violin; Rochester City Ballet, led by artistic director Jamey Leverett.

Bernstein, "Symphonic Dances" from "West Side Story"; Tyzik, Violin Concerto (world premiere); Piazzolla, "Tangazo" (RPO premiere).

Daphnis and Chloé

Thursday, June 2, 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, June 4, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Olga Kern, piano; Rochester Oratorio Society, directed by Eric Townell.

Roussel, "Bacchus and Ariadne" suite; Rachmaninoff, "Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini"; Borodin, "Polovtsian Dances" from "Prince Igor"; Ravel, "Daphnis and Chloé" Suite No. 2.



Pops series (All performances at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre):

An evening with Megan Hilty

Friday, September 11, and Saturday, September 12, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor; Megan Hilty, vocalist.

Disney in Concert: Tale as Old as Time

Friday, October 23, and Saturday, October 24, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor.

Swing is the Thing

Friday, November 13, and Saturday, November 14, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor

Gala Holiday Pops

Friday, December 18, 8 p.m.; Saturday, December 19, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.; and Sunday, December 20, 2 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor; Festival High School Chorale, co-directed by Amy Story and Harold McAulliffe; Community Children's Chorus, directed by Karla Krogstad.

Cirque Musica

Friday, January 8, 8 p.m.; and Saturday, January 9, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor.

Doc Severinsen

Friday January 22, 8 p.m.; and Saturday, January 23, 8 p.m.

Doc Severinsen, guest conductor and trumpet.

Heart and Soul

Friday, February 12, 8 p.m.; and Saturday, February 13, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor; Michael Lynche, vocalist.

Broadway Rocks

Friday, March 11, 8 p.m.; and Saturday, March 12, 8 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Vocalists TBD.

A Night at the Cotton Club II

Friday, May 27, 8 p.m.; and Saturday, May 28, 8 p.m.

Jeff Tyzik, conductor; Byron Stripling, trumpet; Ted Levy, tap dancer; Miche Braden, vocalist.



OrKIDstra series (All performances at Hochstein)

Blast Off to Space

Sunday, November 15, 2 p.m.

Matthew Kraemer, guest conductor.

NASA space imagery, and space-related music.

Carnival of the Animals

Sunday, January 24, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor.

Dr. Seuss' The Sneetches

Sunday, May 1, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor.

The Magic of Animation

Sunday, May 22, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor.

The animated short film "The Numberlys" plus new animated films by local filmmakers, accompanied by the RPO.



Sunday matinees (All performances at the Performance Hall at Hochstein)

Brahms and Haydn

Sunday, October 25, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor; Juliana Athayde, violin; Lars Kirvan, cello; Erik Behr, oboe; Matthew McDonald, bassoon.

Brahms, "Variations on a Theme of Haydn"; Haydn, Sinfonia Concertante; Brahms, Serenade No. 2.

Haydn's "Il Distratto"

Sunday, November 8, 2 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor; Colin Corner, double bass; baritone to be announced.

Mozart, Overture to "The Marriage of Figaro"; Koussevitzky, Concerto for Double Bass;Cimarosa, "Il maestro di cappella"; Haydn, Symphony No. 60, "Il distratto," ("The distracted one").

Appalachian Spring

Sunday, January 10, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor.

Richard Strauss, Serenade in E-flat Major; Wagner, "Siegfried Idyll"; Mahler, "Blumine"; Copland, "Appalachian Spring" (chamber version).

Royal Fireworks Music

Sunday, February 28, 2 p.m.

Guest conductor (to be determined); Douglas Prosser, trumpet; Lianne Coble, soprano.

Bach, Suite No. 4; Scarlatti, Arie con tromba; Bach, Cantata No. 51; Handel, "Music for the Royal Fireworks."

Mozart 40

Sunday, April 24, 2 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor.

Mozart, Symphony No. 40; Schubert, Symphony No. 5; Prokofiev, Symphony No. 1, "Classical."

Vaughan Williams and Beethoven

Sunday, May 29, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor; Rebecca Gilbert, flute; Thomas Rodgers, violin.

Vaughan Williams, "The Lark Ascending"; Lord, "To Notice Such Things"; Beethoven, Symphony No. 8.



Special concerts (All performances at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre)

Distant Worlds: Music from "Final Fantasy"

Thursday, October 29, 7:30 p.m.

Arnie Roth, guest conductor.

From the Top Live with Christopher O'Riley

Sunday, January 17, 3 p.m.

Ward Stare, conductor.

Jim Brickman

Saturday, April 30, 8 p.m.



Holiday concerts (All performances at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre)

"The Nutcracker"

Wednesday, November 25, 7 p.m.; Friday, November 27, 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.; Saturday, November 28, 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.; and Sunday, November 29, 2 p.m.

Michael Butterman, conductor; Rochester City Ballet, Jamey Leverett, artistic director; Bach Children's Chorus, Karla Krogstad, director.

"Home Alone"

Saturday, December 12, 7 p.m.

The holiday movie with live orchestral accompaniment.

  • Full schedule

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Classical

More by JONATHAN MEAD

Readers also liked…

Latest in Classical

More by JONATHAN MEAD

Browse Listings

Submit an event

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2016 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.