Friday, January 3, 2014

Four vacancies in the County Legislature

Posted By on Fri, Jan 3, 2014 at 10:06 AM

For the time being, the Monroe County Legislature has four vacant seats, to which someone must be appointed.

The seats are all emptybecause the people elected to them have all resigned for new local offices. On December 18, Democratic Legislator Michael Patterson resigned to take a seat on City Council. And as of January 1, three Republican legislators vacated their seats: Mike Barker is now Perinton supervisor, Ciaran Hanna is now a Perinton Town Board member, and Rick Antelli is now Greece receiver of taxes.

County Legislature Jeff Adair will have to appoint someone to each of these seats, and the appointee must be from the same party as the person resigning from it. Typically, the party's leadership recommends an appointee.

Adair has 30 days from any vacancy to appoint a replacement, according to the county charter. For the time being, the vacancies have little effect, since the next Legislature meeting isn't until January 14. But with some key issues hanging over the Legislature, it's probably a safe bet that Adair will fill the empty seats before that meeting. Anyone appointed to the seats will have to run for election in November.

Tags: , , ,

Website powered by Foundation     |     © 2023 CITY News