Pin It

ALBUM REVIEW: "Spin Cycle" 

Spin Cycle

"Spin Cycle"

Sound Footing Records

The four members of Spin Cycle are so in-demand for recording sessions and performances that their collective side-man duties cover every corner of jazz and pop, from Joe Lovano and Lee Konitz to Etta Jones and Cheap Trick. Each member of the quartet — Scott Neumann, saxophone; Tom Christensen, drums; Pete McCann, guitar; and Phil Palombi, bass — has performed and recorded albums as a leader. But when these first-call musicians bring together their experiences, skills, styles, and sensibilities, the result is a first-rate album.

Christensen (an Eastman graduate) and Neumann are the leaders, contributing six and four compositions respectively. Their experience crossing genres is apparent in Christensen's tunes like "The Groove" and "Funky Sea," both of which live up to their titles. Neumann's tunes range from the rock and fusion wildness of "Smart Aleck" to the avant-garde leaning "Drift." And both composers are capable of beautiful ballads, as evidenced by Neumann's "Crystalline" and Christensen's "Trust." Not surprisingly, given the members of this band, superb solos abound throughout.


Comments are closed.

Browse Listings

Submit an event

This Week's Issue

Cover Story:
A former paperboy's story of sexual abuse
Rick Bates claims in a lawsuit against Gannett Co. that he was sexually abused as a paperboy in 1983 read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2019 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.