Pin It
.
Favorites

Best Local Color 2016 

bestof02_localcolor.jpg

Best Group or Person Improving the Community

WALL\THERAPY. @walltherapyny; wall-therapy.com

Runners up: B.L.A.C.K. | Junior League of Rochester | Shawn Dunwoody

Best Local Eyesore

Medley Centre. 285 Medley Centre Parkway, Irondequoit.

Runners up: Abandoned Subway | Downtown Rochester | Inner Loop

Best Place to Take an Out-of-Towner

Wegmans. Many area locations. wegmans.com

Runners up: Genesee Brew House | George Eastman Museum | High Falls | Strong Museum of Play

Best Local Men's Sports Team

Red Wings. @rocredwings; redwingsbaseball.com

Runners up: Amerks | Knighthawks | Rhinos

Best Local Women's Sports Team

Roc Stars (Roc City Roller Derby). @rocderby; rocderby.com

Runners up: RIT Women's Hockey | Western New York Flash

Best Local Recreational Sports League

Kickball League of Rochester. @k_l_o_r; rockickball.net

Runners up: Bocce League of Rochester | GRADA Ultimate Frisbee | Hot Shots Volleyball

Best Local Radio Personality

Brother Wease. @brotherwease; radio951.com

Runners up: Evan Dawson | Bob Lonsberry | Jeremy Newman | Scott Spezzano

Best Local Radio Station

97.9 WPXY. @98pxyrochester; 98pxy.com

Runners up: 90.5 WBER | 104.3 WAYO | 1370 WXXI

Best Local TV Personality

Scott Hetsko. @scotthetsko; 13wham.com

Runners up: Don Alhart | Adam Chodak | Doug Emblidge | Norma Holland

Best Local TV News Station

13 WHAM. @13wham; 13wham.com

Runners up: 8 WROC | 10 WHEC | WXXI

Best Local Website

Roc Wiki. rocwiki.org

Runners up: Rochester Subway (rochestersubway.com) | Sir Rocha Says (sirrochasays.com) | The Rochesteriat (therochesteriat.com)

Best Local Facebook Account

Lollypop Farm. facebook.com/lollypopfarm

Runners up: Rachel Barnhart (facebook.com/Rochester.Rachel) | Sinful Sweets (facebook.com/SinfulSweetsROC) | Sir Rocha Says (facebook.com/sirrochasays)

Best Local Twitter Feed

@sirrochasays.

Runners up: @akachela | @evandawson | @MedleyCentre | @rachbarnhart

Best Local Instagram Account

@explorerochester.

Runners up: @rocgirlgang | @rochesterny | @sirrochasays

Best Local Podcast

Food About Town. foodabouttown.com

Runners up: 1370 Connections with Evan Dawson | 4 Confessions on a Friday | Finding Tammy Jo

Best Local Commercial Jingle

Lori's Natural Foods. 900 Jefferson Road, Henrietta, 424-2323, lorisnatural.com

Runners up: Bob Johnson Chevrolet | Cellino and Barnes | Record Archive

Most Significant Local News Story of 2016

74 arrested during downtown Black Lives Matter protest.

Runners up: Charlie Tan case | I-Square/COMIDA controversy | Seneca Park Zoo names new sea lion "Sunny"

Best Local News Story Ignored in 2016

RCSD's modernization plan.

Runners up: Black Lives Matter protest | WAYO launch | Police brutality

In This Guide...

Speaking of...

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

 

Comments are closed.

Browse Listings

Submit an event

Hall of Fame Toy: Uno @ Central Library

The Children’s Center of the Central Library of Rochester & Monroe County...

Summer Movie: UglyDolls @ Central Library

Popcorn provided. Rated PG for families of all ages. For more information,...

Are you a Butterfly? @ Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Center

View all of today's events »

This Week's Issue

Cover Story:
The people's pitch: Cricket and Rochester
Nurtured by immigrants from India and the Caribbean, cricket is one of the city’s oldest sporting traditions. Current cricketers are hoping some of their children will follow their lead. read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2019 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.