Pin It

CLASSICAL | 'Fanfare and Filigree' 

The 1720's were a significant decade in Western music — the decade included the premieres of such mighty masterworks as Bach's "Saint Matthew" and "Saint John" Passions and Handel's "Julius Caesar." Composers of the era also produced volumes and volumes of less ambitious but still delightful music, whose attractions are summed up in the title of the next concert of Pegasus Early Music: "Fanfare and Filigree." Doing the honors in a program of both triumphant and virtuosic chamber music by Couperin, Marais, Lully, Zelenka, and other composers is the early-music group Kleine Kammermusik. The ensemble includes Geoffrey Burgess and Meg Owens, oboes and recorders; Stephanie Corwin, bassoon; Rebecca Humphrey, cello and viola da gamba; Leon Schelhase, harpsichord; and Pegasus Artistic Director Deborah Fox, baroque guitar and theorbo.

Pegasus Early Music will present "Fanfare and Filigree" on Sunday, April 22, at Downtown United Presbyterian Church, 121 North Fitzhugh Street. 4 p.m.; pre-concert talk at 3:15 p.m. $25 general; $20 seniors; $10 students.;

Browse Listings

Submit an event

This Week's Issue

Issue Cover
Cover Story:
A landlord’s victim fights back and blazes a trail for tenants
She lives with mice, buckling ceilings, and shoddy walls. But Linda Barger sued her landlord for repairs and won, becoming a pioneer for Rochester tenants' rights. read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2020 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.