Pin It

CLASSICAL | "Fracture/Refractured" 

The Easter season and contemporary classical music, this Maundy Thursday, will converge at Rochester Brainery when The International Artist Initiative presents "Fracture/Refractured," a chamber music program featuring the works of important living composers. Estonian composer Arvo P#rt's "Fratres" for string quartet brings lovely reverence to the fore, while the solo cello work "Sept Papillons" by Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho is an airy yet turbulent work, communicating equal parts beauty and agony. There is the American work "Flow, My Tears" for solo viola by Christopher Theofanidis, and a world premiere by Alexandra Bryant for a chamber ensemble, voice, and tuned wine glasses. This new work was commissioned by The International Artist Collective for Easter and inspired by the poem "The Agony" by George Herbert.

"Fractured/Refractured" will be presented on Thursday, April 13, at the Rochester Brainery, 176 Anderson Avenue, F109. 7 p.m. Free.;


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Choice Concerts

More by Daniel J. Kushner

Browse Listings

Submit an event

This Week's Issue

Cover Story:
The real fight against fake news
This year's top 10 Project Censored stories read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2018 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.