Pin It

CLASSICAL | RPO's 'Brandenburg Concerto No. 4' 

Johann Sebastian Bach's six Brandenburg Concertos are among the best-known pieces in classical music, but they don't often appear on symphony orchestra programs. The fourth in the series makes a welcome appearance on the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra's concert this Sunday afternoon. Handling the Bachian filigree in this lighter-than-air work are RPO flutists Rebecca Gilbert and Alison Fierst, with concertmaster Juliana Athayde. Guest conductor Christopher James Lees also leads other Baroque delights by Jeremiah Clarke, William Boyce, and Handel. The concert concludes with the quasi-Baroque style of String Symphony in B Minor, written by Felix Mendelssohn.

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra presents "Brandenburg Concerto No. 4" Sunday, December 9, 2 p.m. at the Performance Hall at Hochstein, 50 North Plymouth Avenue.50 N. Plymouth Avenue. $24-$38. 454-2100.


Comments are closed.

Latest in Choice Concerts

Readers also liked…

Browse Listings

Submit an event

This Week's Issue

Cover Story:
Earth Day feature: Painting a picture of a planet in peril
Artists make the environment their work read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2019 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.