Pin It

CLASSICAL | "The Best of East and West" 

"The Best of East and West," an afternoon recital program presented by Nazareth College's Music Department, will feature a coming together of contrasting colors and styles. The "East" will be represented by the pieces "Sound of the Five" and "Wild Grass" — written by composers Chen Yi and Zhou Long, respectively — while the "West" will be heard through Russian composer Anton Arensky's "Four Pieces" and French composer Claude Debusy's "Cello Sonata." The program also demonstrates the compositional connection Debussy (1862-1918) had with the East — the use of scales outside the more traditional Western norms of the day. Department of Music Faculty and cellist Mimi Hwang will be joined by Natasha Farny (cello), Patricia Sunwoo (violin), David Brickman (violin), Melissa Matson (viola), and Elinor Freer (piano). Mimi Hwang, for whom the "Sound of the Five" by Chen Yi was written, remarks, "While it's always exciting to have a piece written for you, I haven't played this in a while and wanted to share it with the Nazareth and Rochester communities."

"The Best of East and West" will take place Sunday, January 18, at Gerald G. Wilmot Recital Hall, Nazareth College, 4245 East Avenue. 3 p.m. Free. 389-2170.

Browse Listings

Submit an event

Tweets @RocCityNews

Website powered by Foundation     |     © 2020 CITY News