Pin It

CLASSICAL | Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons' 

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra this week will provide a great balance of holiday fare and perennial classics. Concertmaster Juliana Athayde headlines the concert as soloist for Baroque composer Antonio Vivaldi's timeless "Four Seasons," a selection that pairs well with Mozart's Symphony No. 41 — also known as "Jupiter." Additional Baroque excerpts from Handel's beloved oratorio "Messiah" and Arcangelo Corelli's "Christmas Concerto" make for a holiday program that has broad appeal without being too obvious. Michael Christie returns as guest conductor. The performances mark the last Philharmonic concert until mid-January. For a review of this concert, check back on Friday.

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra performs Thursday, December 14, 7:30 p.m., and Saturday, December 16, 8 p.m. at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre, 60 Gibbs Street. $24-$104. 454-2100;


Comments are closed.

More by Daniel J. Kushner

Readers also liked…

Browse Listings

Submit an event

This Week's Issue

Cover Story:
Building a better Rochester
read more ...

Tweets @RocCityNews

© 2019 City Newspaper.

Website powered by Foundation.