Theater review: 'Dracula' at Blackfriars

Although Christmas decorations quickly replaced any remnants of Halloween in stores, a large harvest moon hangs low in the sky and the weather has just begun the transition from temperate to bone chilling. With the opening of its second 2017-18 season production, "Dracula," on Halloween, Blackfriars Theatre isn't in a rush to move past the season.

‘The Agitators’ explores the friendship of Fred and Sue

Outside the Susan B. Anthony House on Madison Street, there's a life-size statue created by Pepsy Kettavong depicting Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony having tea. The two were only a few years apart in age and, in true Rochester fashion, of course they knew one another.

Theater review: 'The Hunchback of Notre Dame'

The reinstated Greece Theatre Company stages a next-level production of "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" at the Lyric Theatre

Theater review: 'Smart People' at Geva

There are a few topics people don’t bring up in casual conversation, as a rule — politics, sexual orientation, money, and race, to name a few. For heaven’s sake, just stick to asking about the weather, weekend plans, and the welfare of children or pets.

Theater review: 'School of Rock' at RBTL

The RBTL ushers in their 2017-18 season with "School of Rock," adapted from the crowd-pleasing 2003 comedy starring Jack Black.

Archives


Preview: Lost & Found II @ Create Art 4 Good Studios

Preview: Lost & Found II @ Create Art 4 Good Studios

Smurfs: The Lost Village @ Central Library, Children's Center

Kevin Farley @ Comedy at the Carlson

Fri. & Sat., Nov. 24, 25, 8 p.m....

View all of today's events »

  • Re: ‘The Agitators’ explores the friendship of Fred and Sue

    • I felt like I was watching an after school special of this friendship. Or a…

    • on November 1, 2017
  • More »
  • Popular Events

    • 40th Annual Holiday Open Studio and Sale @ Richard Aerni Studio

      • Sat., Dec. 9, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. and Sun., Dec. 10, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
    • USA Dance: Ballroom & Latin @ Penfield Recreation Center

      • Fourth Monday of every month, 5:15-9 p.m. Continues through June 10 $7-$12
    • Kevin Farley @ Comedy at the Carlson

      • Fri., Nov. 24, 8 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 25, 8 p.m.
    • The Eddie Money Musical @ RAPA, Kodak Center

      • Wednesdays-Sundays. Continues through Feb. 18 $39-$59
    • Little Women, The Musical @ Blackfriars Theatre

      • Fri., Dec. 15, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 16, 7-9 p.m., Sun., Dec. 17, 2-4 p.m., Wed., Dec. 20, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 21, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 22, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 23, 8-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 28, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 29, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 30, 8-10 p.m. and Sun., Dec. 31, 2-4 p.m. $31.50-$39.50

    Browse Listings

    Submit an event

    Tweets @RocCityNews

    © 2017 City Newspaper.

    Website powered by Foundation.